Key Takeaways

  • Twitter, now known as X, is owned by Elon Musk after he acquired the company for $43.2 billion in October 202
  • Prior to Musk, Twitter was a publicly traded company with institutional investors and notable shareholders like Saudi Arabia's Prince Alwaleed bin Talal and co-founder Jack Dorsey.
  • Twitter was founded in 2006 and has had leadership changes over the years, with Jack Dorsey serving two stints as CEO and Parag Agrawal currently holding the position. Musk's acquisition of Twitter brought notable changes to the company, including a name change to X and the implementation of new policies and layoffs.